Posted by: fizzhogg | March 21, 2012

The Good, The Bad, and The Rainy

The Good

This week’s weigh-in.

209!

Yes, we have cracked the 210 barrier. And I could not be happier because it happened during a week when I managed but one ride outside. I had three episodes on the trainer, but still, this week was nothing like the previous week from a riding standpoint.

But what I did do was — I mastered my eating. I did not have one bad day/night, and that makes me feel as good as completing a century ride. Okay, almost as good.

I can see 200 pounds, people! It’s way out there on the horizon, but I can see it.

The Bad

Tomorrow morning I have to leave Cycling Mecca due to work. And I’m going to be gone for no less than 23 days.

23 days without Cycling Mecca.

23 days without Hal 9000.

23 days without The Goat, or the Unfat Machine, or the Green Hornet.

23 days in a hotel with 24-hr room service, and no less than 31 restaurants within a 10-minute walk.

23 days of working 12 hours a day M-F, which will consist mostly of… sitting.

The Rainy

The place I will be spending the next 23 days is Portland, OR.

Wait, Portland you say? “Well, I hear that’s one of the single best cycling cities in all the United States!”

Yes, well, Portland is certainly cycling friendly. And I do plan on renting a bike. However, in addition to my 60 hours a week of sitting, Portland this time of year offers something I have rarely experienced on my rides.

Rain.

Lots.

Like London amounts. Or more.

It rains almost every single day in Portland this time of year. I have ridden in the rain exactly three times. And two of those times it was for less than 10 minutes.

But I am bringing my helmet and gloves and cold weather riding gear, and warm weather riding gear, and my pedals. I am committed to trying.

I do not want the great work I’ve managed over the past few weeks to be wasted. So I have to be more disciplined than I ever have in my eating. And I have to try and ride on the weekends.

So I will.

In the rain. On an unfamiliar and unfitted machine, over unfamiliar terrain. Just two days a week.

The Good. The Bad. and The Rainy. Bet you can’t wait for these ride reports!

Eat better.

Ride your bike.

Be like Clint Eastwood.

 

 

Watch out for the road idiots

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

  2. Good luck. This is going to take some serious dedication just do it.

  3. I love riding in the rain, as long as you can dry your gear/clothes out, it really isn’t a problem. I envy your chance of experiencing Portland’s cycle friendly infrastructure first hand. Good luck I’m sure you’ll stay focussed on your goal. Cheers.

  4. Nice.

    I love rain riding too. Also snow riding. Also hail riding. Also sun riding.

    I probably don’t love tornado riding, but I haven’t actually tried it yet.

  5. Most people and bikes are water proof. Just saying… :)

    I hope you can get some rides in around Portland. I would like to know what you think of the place.

  6. Portland would be beautiful if you had a mtn bike and it was later in the year….
    Now, it’s going to require a lot of discipline


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

