Posted by: fizzhogg | April 25, 2013

From Amazing to Freaking Crazytown

There are no photos in this post. I apologize.

This is not a very long, nor very humorous post. I apologize.

It is now 36 days since that March 18th morning when I fell below 200lbs.

In those 36 days, I have ridden a total of seven times. For a combined 200 miles. Not bad, but not world beating.

And now we go from amazing to freaking Crazytown… in those same 36 days… I am down another…

13.5 pounds.

Yes. This morning I weighed 186lbs. I have not been this weight since the mid 90’s. Crazytown.

It is one pound off of the magical dream I had when I started riding — 185 pounds. That was my dream because, among other reasons, I thought it was almost completely unattainable. Now I am one pound away.

And 185 ain’t good enough. New plan (not goal, PLAN) — 170lbs.

Climbing weight.

Since this revelation in January, I am down a total of 26.5 pounds. In just over THREE MONTHS. With only 9 rides during that time. Freaking Crazytown.

Eating. It is all about eating. Notice I did not say NOT eating. I am eating, people. Trust me. I have found in my vast experience of yo-yo dieting, that not eating only makes you feel like crap, and greatly increases the odds of binging later.

I have been eating… differently. Than ever in my life. And after those shaky first few weeks… I LIKE IT.

I like eating healthy food. I don’t miss the garbage anymore. I did at first, for sure, but now the thought of mounds of fried food and greasy burgers and blah, blah, blah… sounds like a root canal.

That’s pretty much it from here. I hope to be riding more and more now that our weather has stabilized and my back has healed. I will try to take some pretty Steveian photos for you all.

Until then… this is the mayor of Crazytown reminding you that it IS possible, you CAN do it, it does NOT take someone special, and it IS worth it.

Eat better.

Ride your bike.

But seriously, eat better.

 

 

 

Fair winds and following seas, Willy


Responses

  1. Nice one, Mr. Mayor. Now just imagine how fast things would descend if you were on the bike!

  2. Well done my friend. I need to know your secret, I’ve had some problems with controlling my diabetes lately and they have been playing with my medication. I am trying eat sensibly and have managed to gain a pound a day this week. Its obviously working well!

  3. WOW! Quite the progress! Well done. I like the new goal – Climbing weight!
    Keep up the good work and keep riding! (Hoping for more ride reports as well)

    Dan

  4. Absolutely awesome man. You’ve got the furnace burning in high gear now. Congrats, and keep up the good work.

  5. Wow. That is some progress! I’m sure it feels amazing.

    We may be making a trip to your neck of the woods sometime in the next year. Maybe we can take in a climb together, although I hope you will politely wait at the top for me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

