Posted by: fizzhogg | March 10, 2010

More firsts

So after my record setting ride of last post, my bike needed an adjustment. I took it in to my local shop and got the “other guy.”

You know how at your bike shop there is always the “cool guy” – the one you like dealing with, the one who’s always friendly, who remembers you and your bike, remembers your experience/ability, and is always willing to give you advice or a quick tip? Then there’s always the “other guy” – the one who sees you just as much, but never gives you the time of day, never remembers that you were just in three times last week, acts like your bike is something from outer space… an outer space place with lousy cycling products.

I got the other guy. So my quick (free) adjustment I always get from the cool guy, turned into a “We gotta keep it over the weekend, and it’ll be $30” adjustment.

I regained control of the Secteur on Monday, thirty clams lighter, and just in time for an all day/all night rainstorm. Those of you that read this blog regularly (that would me and… me) know that I have a Cycleops Trainer in the basement, so a rainstorm should mean nothing. But this blog is about honesty with you and myself (though, according to my blog stats, you is myself), so I must admit that I am not the biggest fan of the trainer.

I will ride on it occasionally, but for the most part, for me it is akin to walking on a treadmill. I need the wind and air and smells and sounds of the outdoors, no disrespect to Robbie Ventura and his fantastic DVD.

Long story short, I have not ridden since my 18 miler of last week. Until today. Today we had our first post-winter day of the year. 70 degrees and sunny. WOW! My first time ever riding without head-to-toe Under Armor, my GU ski cap, and my North Face gloves.

Today’s ride also marked the first time I’ve ridden with music. Many fellow riders proclaim riding with music is a moral imperative. But whether it’s because I had too many layers on, or was worried my iPod would break, or whatever, I have never done it.

Until today.

I love riding with music. And it’s such a no-brainer. I HAVE to have music when I work, or I cannot work. Music is a huge part of my life. I love music, almost to an obsessive level. So why did it take me until today to plug in on a ride? I’m just a dumbass.

Whether it was the weather, the lighter weight clothing, or the music, I don’t know. But something clicked today and I rode my toughest challenge yet – the Pyrenees. The Pyrenees are  just some hilly roads around my neighborhood, but for this fatty, they might as well be the real Pyrenees.

I pointedly avoid these roads most days. In fact, the last time I attempted to tackle the Pyrenees, I had to stop twice, and one time even turned around on the middle of an ascent and went back the way I came. That was January.

Today I climbed and climbed and climbed. I was freaking Pellizotti out there! Okay, perhaps I’m overstating a bit. I just compared my 50some pounds overweight, four-months-into-cycling, Clydesdale Fattyness to the current Tour De France King of the Mountains winner. Oh, and Franco climbed the actual freaking Pyrenees!

Now, I only rode 11 miles toward the 2K In 2K10 Unfat Project, but today’s eleven miles were by far the toughest I’ve ridden.

It felt great. Though I’m still a Clydesdale, for forty-some minutes today, for the first time in twenty years, I didn’t feel fat.

Eat better.

Keep climbing.

Lose the gut.

Responses

  1. I always used to ride with music on until I broke my bike. I find it helps focus me more on the rides.

    Just make sure oyu can still hear the traffic around you if you are cycling on or near roads.

    Which reminds me, I need to get a new bike for summer…


Leave a Reply

Categories

