Posted by: fizzhogg | April 3, 2010

And Now For Something Completely Different

I ask you, dear reader… which of the following “firsts” that I experienced on my ride today have you, too, experienced.

1 – Bugs in the mouth. The weather has turned to spring. The sun is out, the wind is blowing, and the bugs are flying… all apparently at the exact height that my mouth is as I ride. I hope they are protein-filled little buggers.

2 – Crosswinds. We have spoken here at 2Kin2K10 about the ruthless headwinds we’ve encountered. But today’s ride featured a crosswind of what felt like at least 15-20mph. I had to keep the Unfat Machine at nearly a 45 degree angle just to keep from being blown off the road.

3 – Rollerbladers. Okay, I’m new to cycling, I know, but dang – do these rollerblading folks think the bike paths were built only for them? Isn’t there a reason they’re called BIKE paths? Look, I’m willing to share the road with anyone or anything, so long as you obey the rules of etiquette. Which basically amount to stay on the right side unless you’re passing. These rollerbladers seem only feel comfortable blading (or is it rolling?) from the extreme left then right side of the path, with no regard for anyone else coming or going.

4 – New personal best mileage – 23.2 miles. Nice way to start April.

5 – And finally… I’m not quite sure how to categorize this one. I have yet to crash the Unfat Machine, but today I did manage to have a collision with another… with a… well, here’s a picture of what or who or whom I collided with:

You be the judge.

Eat better.

Keep riding.

Lose the bunny.

Leave a Reply

Categories

