Posted by: fizzhogg | May 6, 2010

Back in the Saddle (Again)

Damn, it feels good to be a cyclist.

Okay, so those shaved-legged, 2% body fat, S-Works riding rocket ships may take issue with a Clydesdale using the term cyclist for self-description, but hey, a Ferrari and a Yugo are both cars… sort of.

Today I got back on the Unfat Machine for the first time since forever. I rode 14.2 miles. Not much compared to what I’d been doing, but 14.2 miles better than the zero miles I’d been doing lately.

I added up my year so far and I’ve logged 435 miles. Pretty amazing for a fatty like me, but… I need to AVERAGE over 195 per month if I’m going to reach my goal of 2K in 2K10.

In April I was on track to crack the 200-mile mark, until I had work stuff overtake my life. But by next week, I will be rolling again and preparing for my 50-mile ride on June 5th.

The Tour de Cure ride scares me. It will be nearly double the longest distance I’ve ever ridden. It will be my first group ride. I have no one riding with me. No teammates, no friends, just me and the UM. I am excited about it, but it’s a nervous excitement. If anyone out there is actually reading this, I’d love any tips for a newbie group rider.

As my schedule goes, I will ride tomorrow – hopefully around the 30-mile mark, and again on Saturday. Then I will not have access to the Unfat Machine for one week. That will leave me about two weeks tops to train/prepare for the Tour de Cure.

What I am thinking?

Eat better.

keep riding.

Lose the gut.

Leave a Reply

Categories

