Posted by: fizzhogg | July 23, 2010

There is a God and he rides a road bike

Ever since I returned from my domination of Mt. Lemmon in Arizona, I have been itching to go on a nice, long, tough ride.

I rode the road-formerly-known-as-the-Pyrenees and crushed it, but my ride was cut short by a broken brake caliper. Then we had several days of rain.

But I awoke yesterday morning and was determined to beat the oncoming rain I saw on the western horizon. So I fueled up, pumped the Unfat Machine’s tires to 120psi, and took off.

I was a bit nervous (read: wimpy) about the humidity, so instead of attacking the road-formerly-known-as-the-Pyrenees, I decided to hit my old favorite levee trail. And to make the ride tough enough to stand up to my new Armstrongesque abilities, I decided I would try and ride at a cadence (avg speed) higher than I ever have before.

Things started out great. There was little wind and I was cranking at 18-20mph for the first several miles. I hit my levee trail and kept rolling, feeling great. And then, as I neared the end of the trail – which, remember, is only about 4 miles from the other end – I saw something.

A “Road Closed” barrier in the familiar orange and white colors of all construction crews. Road closed? But there is no road. The levee trail ends there, and then it’s just grass.

I know they have plans to extend the trail someday – I’ve seen the signs. They claim my 4+ mile trail will one day be 17 miles long. I should be so lucky.

I downshifted the UM, and cruised up to the barrier and nearly fell over. I heard angels sing, and trumpets blare, small woodland creatures were dancing with large woodland carnivores, because, there, on the other side of the barrier, where there was once just green grass… was this:

HAZAAH! In the name of Jens Voigt and all that’s cycling holiness, the levee trail is going to be extended! All that’s left is the paving! Now, what you can’t see in the picture is that they have prepped it all the way to the bridge over the Missouri River – well beyond what you can see in the photo.

I was so happy, I decided to ride the road-formerly-known-as-the-Pyrenees on the way home. And even with that, my average speed for the 28.6 mile ride was 16.5mph. A new personal best.

Eat better.

Keep riding.

Extend the levee trails.

Watch out for the road idiots

Responses

  1. Who is this man? 28.6 miles? That still seems like an epic ride to me, but now seems commonplace to you. You have become one of “them”…an obsessed cyclist, no longer a cautious newbie. Congrats. I strongly dislike hills and would love to have a miles long flat stretch. Your new route will be nice. Pave paradise indeed.

  2. I don’t know how confidential if at all, you want to keep this blog (I tend to be somewhat covert), but I am wondering if I could get your e-mail address?

    When you were in Tucson recently, I should have asked you, but only saw you at church and it wasn’t on my mind.

    I wanted to pick your brain on your industry and give my daughter some advice. If you are open to this, please send me a message at bigclydesdale@gmail.com.

    Thanks.

    And good luck on the 109. You can do it.

  3. You should come ride here. It’s all flat, with nary a hill in sight. Every Saturday morning people get dressed up in their little outfits and ride down the middle of busy city streets. The only reason I don’t run them over is because of you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

