Posted by: fizzhogg | September 24, 2010

Fail

What was that post about my El Tour training starting this week? And I was going to ride between 20 and 40 miles three days, and ride over three and a half hours on another day?

Yeah…

So after two days of rain, I went out. The weather looked beautiful – 77 degrees, sunny, roads had dried for the most part. I pumped the Armadillos, loaded the pockets with Gu, put on my El Tour de Tucson jersey that Big Fat Dave got me for inspiration, and I was off.

And twenty-three minutes later I was off. As in off the Unfat Machine. As in done. Done like a fork-stuck meat. Done like Lance after the cobbles. Done like LONE STAR. Done like the 49ers are if they lose again this weekend.

Done.

Why? because of one aspect of the weather I’ve never really given that much thought to. Oh, I’ve been aware of it, even written about it. But it never occurred to me that it could so adversely affect my ride that I would turn around and go home. But I did.

Maria.

That’s pronounced Mariah, like the diva.

Maria. As in that’s what they call the wind. They being the miners in Paint Your Wagon.

The wind.

I have ridden in some pretty good headwinds before. See my Mt. Lemmon ride, or some of my earlier spring rides. But holy breeze, Batman, this was just stupid.

At first I thought I was flatting again. My bike felt so unstable, especially turning. Twice I stopped and checked my Armadillos. They were good to go. Then right about the time I was nearly blow from the bike lane, across a sidewalk and into a yard, I realized something was afoot.

Maria.

I couldn’t take it. It messed with my whole psyche. Headwinds, tailwinds, blah, blah, blah. But this crosswind? I felt about as secure out there as Allen G. Kalmon at suppertime. Fellas, it’s been good to know ya.

Okay, I’m overstating. But it sucked.

So I went home.

Like a little baby.

And I feel like a baby sitting here now. I checked NOAA and it says west winds at 16mph, gusting to 25mph. Hmm… felt the other way around to me.

So, on this training day I rode 4.9 miles.

I have to ride 109 miles in 56 days and 18 hours.

I better make up for this stupid outing this weekend. My daughter has another soccer game Sunday. I think I will do my Sunday 50 again.

Maybe add some more for punishment.

Eat better.

Ride your bike.

Don’t be a baby.

Fair winds and following seas, Willy

Responses

  1. Sorry to hear that, P. I hope the winds at your back next time.

    Having drinks tonight with your fam. We’ll drink one in your honor.

    Big Clyde


Leave a Reply

Categories

