Posted by: fizzhogg | November 21, 2010

Holy crap, I did it

4,200 cyclists entered the 109-mile event of the 2010 El Tour de Tucson, and either due to mechanical failure (flatting, etc.), or crashing (I saw a lot of those), or physical failure, almost 700 cyclists did not finish within the allotted 12 hours.

I did.

3,534 cyclists finished. I came in 2,928th if anyone’s counting. My time was 8 hours, fifty-seven minutes, and seven seconds. If you finish in under 9 hours you win a silver medal. I won a silver medal.

Sometime tomorrow I will post a full write up of the race – it was the single most difficult thing I’ve ever done in my life. And it was a disaster from mile 2.

More later.

Once again, I will repeat the mantra of this blog…

You are capable of so much more than you think you are. I am now living proof of this.

Eat better.

Ride your bike.

Lose the gut.

Watch out for the road idiots

Responses

  1. That’s beyond awesome. Very proud of you, bro.

  2. Congratulations!

  3. Very impressed, looking forward to the whole gory tale! Well done!


Leave a Reply

Categories

