Posted by: fizzhogg | January 23, 2011

Going, Going Back, Back To Cali, Cali

Lets pause for a moment of silence to remember Biggie Smalls…….

Okay, enough of that.

If you scroll down and check the 101 Things list, you will see I have knocked off number 92 thanks to the Conejo Valley Cyclists club. This group of humans has been amazing, welcoming me like an old friend, helping my Cali housing situation, as well as a myriad of other things. It is truly nice to have a group of people to ride with.

Since coming here I have ridden over 143 miles, and in two weeks have climbed more than I did in any six weeks in St. Louis. Today we did 42 miles, and 3,000 feet of climbing. The weather has been beautiful, and I must say, riding with people is so much more fun than riding alone.I highly recommend it.

Tomorrow I’m going for another 30 miles, which will give me almost 200 hundred for the month. Nice way to start 2011 considering I can no longer ride during the week.

Another wonderful thing I’ve discovered since being out here is Ladyface Alehouse.

This is a bistro/brewhouse owned by the uber-cool Jean-Luc and his equally uber-cool wife Cyrena. I have been to Ladyface no less than seven times in five days, and I can’t wait to go again. Most folks think it’s just another place that brews its own beer. It is, but oh, it is so much more.

The menu has a distinct “across the pond” vibe that both Gaz and Clive would probably enjoy. They make a sandwich with a name I can’t pronounce, but the unenlightened would most likely call it a grilled ham and cheese. And yet, it is so much more.

First of all, it arrives on possibly the best sourdough bread I’ve ever tasted, grilled just enough for full flavor and crunch, but not so much it’s toasty or burnt. Then there’s this thinly sliced ham, also grilled, some completely melted white cheddar, and last… a perfectly, and I mean PERFECTLY fried egg. It’s so good that you want to kill yourself after eating it because you know you will never eat anything as good. Ever.

Until you try the Moules – Frites, which some potlicker would call Mussels and Fries, but again, so, so much more. The mussels come PERFECTLY steamed in a broth of… well, it changes daily. Today it was a curry, cilantro and pale ale beer combo. Other times it’s a garlic white wine, other times it’s… you get the drift. And the fries?

Now, being a fat guy I am automatically a nationally recognized connoisseur of the fried potato. And being one of those, I know that Belgium didn’t just give the world Eddy Merckx, but also gave us the Eddy Merckx of fries with “Belgian Frites.”

Arriving at your table in the cone of desire, these PERFECTLY cooked frites are joined by an assortment of sauces from classic ketchup to aioli, to herb creme fraiche, etc.

But wait, it’s not just the food at this place. It’s the soccer! Jean-Luc and his team of superheroes will turn on any soccer match you want to watch. I saw Barca destroy Racing tonight. And if you aren’t already booking your plane ticket to Cali just so you can go to Ladyface, here’s the kicker. They have their own cycling jerseys!

Are you kidding me? I do believe I have stumbled onto Cycling Mecca.

Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus. And he climbs the Santa Monica mountains on a Trek Madone, and eats fried egg grilled ham and cheese’s while watching soccer at Ladyface Alehouse in Agoura Hills, CA.

As for the OHAOTTDITTD — #46 is slowly shrinking, but I need to step it up; I am on course to complete #51 in another two weeks; And #31 should fall in three weeks.

In other news, GAZ – The Amazing 39 Stone Cyclist and I have decided to challenge each other this year. We are both going for a 40 lbs loss by year’s end. He and I both gained weight recently, and while he has ALREADY SHREDDED IT BACK OFF, I am slowly chipping away. But together we’ll drop 80 pounds!

Eat better.

Ride your bike.

Watch Leverage on TNT.

You’re very good. You are, you are

Responses

  1. Enjoyable read as always, I have stolen some ideas from your goal list BTW 😉

  2. You sound like a man at peace. I would struggle with the temptations of the microbrews, the world’s best grilled cheese sandwich AND extensive hill-climbing, but you have proven that you are made of tougher stuff than I am.

    If you are looking for company, I may join you on those 40 pounds. I found 15 over the past five months and have a lot of work to do.

  3. That pub looks fantastic! In that climate too! Green with envy…


Leave a Reply

Categories

