Posted by: fizzhogg | February 28, 2011

Shut up, Legs

Greetings.

I rode 40.9 miles today with 1,949 feet of climbing. And guess what?

That 1,949 feet of climbing felt like… about 800 feet.

I’m getting stronger.

I’m getting faster.

I am still a hill slug, but I am a stronger, faster hill slug.

I didn’t post about this, but on Valentines Day I rode ROCK STORE. I’m too tired to publish links, you can look it up, but basically, Rock Store is the name of one of the most famous motorcycle bar/restaurants in America. When you say “Rock Store” to a motorcyclist, that’s what he/she thinks of. When you say “Rock Store” to a cyclist, they think climbing.

The Rock Store climb is as famous to cyclists as the bar is to motorcyclists. It starts at the bar and rises for a mere 2.3 miles. It was part of the Amgen Tour of California last year. Those guys rode up it something like five or six times.

I rode it once. In 24 minutes and 7 seconds.

Yes, laugh. 24 minutes to go 2.3 miles??? Uh, huh. See, Rock Store has nearly 1,400 feet of climbing in those 2.3 miles, with at least seven switchbacks – I lost count.

I timed myself because, like Gaz, I want a goal, something to aspire to. I aspire to ride Rock Store in under 20 minutes. And I will. Soon.

GOAAAAAAALLLLLL (S)

You might notice a new bit of math over at the “Shut Up Legs” section of the blog…  Elevation Gain.

Climbing.

Since arriving in Cycling Mecca, I have climbed 23,465 feet. Holy Van Impe! (look it up)

And lets not stop there. Lets talk mileage. Tomorrow being the last day of February, I thought I’d point out that I rode nearly 250 miles in February. A month that is not only short, but one in which I was only riding on the weekends, more or less.

Note to all of you who think you don’t have time to ride… I rode over 200 miles this month riding once on Saturdays (for about 2.5 hrs), and once on Sundays (for about 2 hrs). So, get off your tuckus, quit with the excuses, and ride!

Last February, 2010, I rode a total of 24 miles.

So… since we’re talking goals and I’m obviously feeling very chippy about myself, I’m officially announcing my 2011 Cycling Goals:

Ride over 500 miles in one month, at least twice.

Ride 5,000 miles for the year.

Climb over 100,000 feet for the year.

Dang, but that last one looks both ominous and impressive, doesn’t it? Right now, I’m averaging over 11,000 feet per month. Now, yes, I know when I get back to StL, there won’t be any Rock Stores, etc., so I am going to have load up on these front months.

And……. I may need a little help, equipment-wise.

That, my friends, is known as a tease. Stay tuned.

As for the 101 Things List, there should be a couple of them falling within the next few weeks. << Another tease, only not as good.

Eat better.

Ride your bike.

Climb like a mountain goat.

Fair winds and following seas, Willy

Responses

  1. Good going mate, more feet upwards than me by a good long way!

  2. Inspiring, P. Amazing goals, excellent performance ytd. I am looking for some inspiration. Aside from this week, I have been avoiding exercise, been sick, etc. throughout Feb. I am still wavering between cycling and running, doing poorly in both. I’ll write about it soon, but I wish I could settle on some milestone goal that would fit my interests, schedule, family goals, etc.

    In the meantime, I am cheering on your success. Well done.


Leave a Reply

Categories

