Posted by: fizzhogg | June 12, 2011

Ride 2 Recovery

One week after my disastrous 100 Miles of Nowhere, I rode a metric century – 62 miles. And as bad as last week was, this week was that good.

The RIDE-2-RECOVERY is a series of events to raise support and awareness for our wounded veterans.

As I’ve said here before, there is no human I respect more than the men and women of our armed forces. And the Ride-2-Recovery is something I will support every year and I encourage you all to do the same.

The day was foggy and overcast, which was great, and the route was a large circle – head west, a couple of big descents, then out to the coast, ride along the Pacific Ocean for a bit, then turn north and climb up the infamous Mulholland Highway – 8 miles at a 6% avg – before descending back down into Cycling Mecca and returning to the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Lost Hills Station.

This was the first event put on by the LASD and R2R in this area, and I thought they did a fantastic job. Here are the officers and soldiers participating:

About one hundred and fifty of us rolled off just past 8am. The field quickly spread out, groups of friends and veterans riding together, other loners like myself just cruising along. After last week, I was determined not to cook myself this time, so I took it quite easy the first 15 miles.

I must tell you all – riding a century (or metric century) by yourself sucks. Nothing on a bike sucks like riding that far completely alone as I did last week. Riding with people is a whole different story. Even though I rode most of the day by myself, just knowing there were others out there, doing the same thing, gave me a sense of peace I did not have last week.

Even when I’d get dropped by some speedsters it was still better than riding alone.

About 15 miles in we hit the first descent and it was awesome! As in awe-inspiring. I snapped this photo just before I descended the “Potrero Wall” as it’s known:

That’s beginning of the descent. About a mile (and eight switchbacks) down it goes to an 11% for a bit. I was quite happy we were not climbing the Wall today. I hit 43mph on the descent and that was enough for me considering the moisture out there. But it was a rush!

At each rest stop there were cops and veterans with water, food and gels. I can’t tell you how inspiring it was to be out there with these men and women who lay their lives on the line for us. Regardless of one’s political views, I believe it is our duty to honor these folks whenever and however we can. A special shout out right now to our cycling friend and veteran Steve @ There and Back Again.

As the ride rolled out onto U.S. Highway 1 and the Pacific coast I was feeling fantastic. I was eating and drinking MUCH better than the week before, and the views on the ride coupled with being around so many police and veterans was simply amazing.

As I rolled along the coast I could not help stopping to snap some photos. The Goat seem to be enjoying the day as well.

And here we are a few miles from the last rest stop before the Mulholland climb – the pack I’m chasing was all police officers and they were a blast to ride with. We even got a paceline going into a tough headwind right up to the rest stop.

42 miles into the ride we hit Mulholland and while there were parts where I was certainly suffering, I found a nice groove and cadence and for the most part the climb was great.

I crested Mulholland and wanted to bomb the descent back into Cycling Mecca, but I quickly came upon two riders who were not as interested in bombing as I was, and so I chose to sit behind them instead of unnecessarily risking a pass. I didn’t mind. I was loving the day.

I rolled back into the sheriff’s station just under 4 hours and 21 minutes after I started. 61.56 miles, 3,859 feet of gain. My moving time according to Hal 9000 was 4:17:58, so I loved that I spent barely 3 minutes at rest stops during the day. I finished with a 14.2mph average speed, 14.3 moving.

All in all it was a great day. Thanks again to Ride2Recovery, the LA County Sheriff’s Malibu/Lost Hills Station, Capt. Joseph Stephen and Jeff Price, and the men and women serving our country all over the globe.

See you next year!

Eat better.

Ride your bike.

When you see servicemen in a restaurant, buy their meal.

 

 

 

Fair winds and following seas, Willy

Responses

  1. Great job and a great cause! The course looked awesome too!

  2. That last picture , looks like the route used on the Biggest loser marathon ????

  3. Nice job mate.


Leave a Reply

Categories

