Posted by: fizzhogg | June 19, 2011

We Interrupt This Blog

On Saturday, June 18, 2011 Clarence Clemons passed away.

The “Big Man” as he was known, was the spine of Bruce Springsteen’s E Street Band.

I’m not going to go into detail here about my sadness, about how important Clarence and the band’s music is to me. The fact that my son loves it when I call him Bad Scooter says enough. I’m not going to link youtube videos of his sax solos – you can all find that on your own.

The reason I’m posting about it here is that my list of 101 Things To Do in 2000 Days is now impossible to complete.

#6 on my list was to see Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band in concert just one more time. I cannot do that now. Because, even if Bruce tours again, even if he tours with every living member of the band, for me it is no longer the E Street Band. Springsteen lives on, his music will live forever, but for me the E Street Band died on Saturday.

My friend Wallace Stroby grew up near the legendary Asbury Park, NJ. He knows as much about the band and their music as anyone who’s never been inside the infamous “inner circle.”

Wallace wrote a beautiful piece about the Big Man and his death for Salon. You can read it HERE.

The cycling community has lost two too many riders this year. And now the world has lost the Big Man.

2011 sucks.

Eat better.

Ride your bike.

RIP Clarence Clemons

 

You’re very good. You are, you are

Responses

  1. “When the change was made uptown and the Big Man joined the band, from the coastline to the city all the little pretties raise their hands.”

    10th Avenue Freeze Out, Bruce Springsteen and the E-Street Band

    RIP Clarence Clemons


Leave a Reply

Categories

