Posted by: fizzhogg | August 29, 2011

Time to Dig Deep and Give Hope

Epic August continues with Livestrong.

You already know about it, so I will keep this short and sweet.

In October I will be riding in the Livestrong Challenge Austin Event. 90+ miles, nearly 6,000 feet of climbing. I am riding for those 28 million whose lives have been permanently altered by cancer.

And I ride in memory of Joan McCarthy. We lost my wife’s mother this summer to cancer. She was quite possibly the finest human I have ever known. She fought like a wolverine, she never gave up, but in the end we’re all playing with the House’s money.

Livestrong was an incredible source of strength to my family during this difficult time. We will forever be in their debt. So I ride for Joan. I ride for the 28. And I ride for Livestrong.

I have set an incredibly lofty goal of raising $10,000 by October. Yes, 10K. So thanks to Fatty and the good people at TREK BIKES, I am giving away some prizes!!!

One lucky donator to my Livestrong Challenge page will win a brand new Trek Livestrong bike just like this.

How It Works

To participate in this contest, just go to my LiveStrong Challenge page and donate in multiples of $5.00. For each $5.00 you donate, you will be given a row in a contest spreadsheet. You must donate between now and Saturday, October 8th, 2011, at 11:59pm CT.

Once all donations are in, an independent third party will go to random.org and generate random numbers between 1 and the number of rows in the contest spreadsheet.

I will immediately notify the winner(s) by email. However, because it’s become nearly freaking impossible to notify someone by email that they’ve genuinely won something, the subject line will be something innocuous (like, “Hey”), and the message will tell you that I need to talk with you, and will include my phone number so you can call me back.

So watch for that, OK?

But wait, THERE’S MORE!!! Trek has agreed that – if I reach my goal of $10,000.00 they will donate TWO Livestreong bikes!!! So if we reach 10K then your chances double to win one of those epic, unique, awesomely cool Livestrong Treks.
DONATE HERE for a chance to win one and possibly two Trek Bikes. Or just donate to be a very cool person who wants to support Livestrong and the 28 million. Or both.

Stipulations and Stuff

  • The contest starts NOW and ends at 11:59pm CT, October 8th, 2011.
  • Make sure when you donate, you use an email address that you actually check – and check the junk folder!
  • Donations made prior to today do not count toward this contest. So if you gave, give again!
  • You have to promise to keep and ride this bike, or at least to give it away to someone who will keep it, love it, and ride it. No re-prizing or ebaying. Please.

If you have questions, post them in comments; I’ll do my best to answer them, or to edit this post to contain the answer.

Again, for every $5.00 you donate, you will receive 1 chance in the random drawing.

Eat better.

Ride your bike.

DONATE AND WIN

 

 

 

You’re very good. You are you are

Leave a Reply

Categories

