Posted by: fizzhogg | April 24, 2012

Of Bucket Lists and Weight Loss

Another week of zero riding… and another week of weight loss.

208.

Yes. 208lbs. Without a single mile on the bike!

It can be done, people. Portion control, and not eating at night.

Now, listen, I am not a good eater. I still loves me some fried food and pasta and all that. But I have stopped eating chips (crisps) this year, and I’ve had maybe… three orders of fries this spring. Make that four if I count my eating contest with Fatty of FatCyclist that was held in Portland. (I won, by the way)

But other than that, I still eat Chinese food, lots of pasta with sauces, cheese, and other yummy goodness.

So I am happy and amazed, and somewhat baffled that, even without leg-burning rides I was still able to lose weight.

208.

I hope to be back on the bike this week. I was sick, then I was swamped with post-Portland work, but hopefully I can get a hundred miles or so in before the end of the month.

The descent to 180 has made me look back over the past year — my negative self thinks “How much COULD you have lost by now, had you not been so weak?”

My negative self is not the most gregarious self.

Looking back made me think about my “bucket list” of 101 Things In 2000 Days.

Since we last checked in, I have accomplished a couple more random acts of kindness (still have 84 to go), I have met Fatty of Fatcyclist (#16 on the list), and I have eaten the $24 spaghetti at Scarpetta (#34), both of which exceeded expectations.

Before I leave Cycling Mecca this year, I plan on going after #27 on the list – compete in the Eddy Merckx category of a time trial. Note I said “compete” not “do well.” I’m no Little Joey Choo Choo after all.

It’s Tuesday and the sun is mostly out. If I finish my work soon enough, I will be out on The Goat today. And hopefully tomorrow, and the next day… it’s spring. WE SHOULD ALL BE RIDING.

Eat better.

Ride your bike.

It can be done.

 

 

Fair winds and following seas, Willy

Leave a Reply

Categories

