Posted by: fizzhogg | April 23, 2014

I’m still here (sort of)

Hi. Remember me?

It’s not that I haven’t been trying.

I’ve been in Cycling Mecca for two months now. I’ve tried posting all sorts of blog entries. One about my century ride along the ocean, two about some massive climbs, one about a club ride, one about the coyotes I encountered in Griffith Park. One about all the Hollywood landmarks I ride around. And I even had a didactic post about How to Descend if you’re a newbie or rec rider.

But I’ve been having major issues with WordPress. Specifically, whenever I try to add “Media” as they call it – photos – or links, the post implodes. Badly.

I’ve contacted WordPress 3 times and their customer service is… well, I think “nonexistent” is the nicest thing I can say.

WordPress simply believes I’m a monkey and sends me form replies, and assumes I’ve never used their site or a computer. Ever. They claim user error.

I had a very skilled IT person go into my WordPress account and hunt around, and their diagnosis was, “Something’s wrong with your WordPress account.”

But not according to WordPress.

So, that’s why there’s been so much radio silence on this blog.

I’m not sure what to do. I could move this thing to another host site, I guess, but who doesn’t hate moving? And I’d really hate to risk losing everything that’s here.

If any of you have suggestions as to what I can or should do, I’d love to hear them.

 

Thanks for your support.

Responses

  1. That’s a bummer brother. Try a photo only post, see if that works. Also, try a post with photos from a mobile app and see if that works. I’m shootin in the dark tough brother. I hope you get it straightened out.

    • Yep, tried it all. Thanks.

  2. Does it implode while you’re previewing it while writing it, or only after you try to send it live?

    • When I try to “publish” it — it comes out all wonky; messed up spacing and looking nothing like it looks when I type it or preview it. Photos not in order — all over the place, text all over the place, etc.

      • Guess: One of the things on the page above the new entry (possibly below, but more likely above) has an open tag. Try screwing around with your header, uploading it again, resaving any stuff that appear up there, etc. Make the blog regenerate itself, basically, so it’ll close the open tag.

  3. If that doesn’t work, I’d also try removing that visitor counter widget.

  4. If you can get a back up of all your data from WordPress.com, try just installing WP on your computer and see if how to go about getting it restored. It will give you the info you need to see if you’re up for moving to self hosting. I use bluehost , I like it, not that I’ve posted recently, I need to fix that!

  5. Yep, I’m going with Keith’s answer. Try editing the design and remove the widget. WP widgets can be buggy.

    It also could be a CSS problem. Do you use a custom CSS sheet? If not — and you probably don’t — editing and republishing the design might fix that as well.

    Or you could try laying a new design over the blog. That shouldn’t do anything to your posts, I don’t think. At any rate, the content will still be there.

  6. Glad you’re still out there, sorry to hear of the issues getting posts published. I, unfortunately, have no other suggestions to add except, turn it off and back on. 🙂 Seriously, though it could be related to recent security updates as I’ve noticed issue son other blogs on WordPress as well.

  7. Thanks for all the suggestions. We’ll see how it goes. I can publish text-only posts with no problems. Issue only occurs when adding links or photos.

  8. Good to see you check in. Perhaps this is your opportunity to hone your writing craft! I look forward to the word pictures you paint with your keyboard…


Leave a Reply

Categories

